Carlee Vs. Arnold

Homemade, Gluten- Free Sandwich thins

~ yields 16 sandwich thins ( 165 calories per thin)

Note: ( Not all steps are shown in Pics. FOLLOW directions. Read directions before you start.)

1 1/4 cups warm water
1/4 cup sugar
1 pkg (2 1/4 tsp) yeast
2 cups Bob Red’s Mill All- Purpose Flour
1-1 1/2 cup Almond meal/ flour
1/2 cup oat bran
4 tsp Xanthan Gum
1 tsp salt
1 egg
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp rolled oats

 

Directions :

In the bowl of your stand food processor or mixer, combine water, sugar and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let sit for 10 minutes. Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl (start with only 1 cup of the AP flour) and add half to the mixer bowl (or just measure out half of each one). Add the oil and egg and then turn the food processor to dough or Mixer on to low and mix until thoroughly combined. Cover and let rest 1 hour.

 

 

 

 

 Add the remaining dry ingredients and knead for 5 minutes. This dough will be sticky . Add additional flour by the tablespoon so that dough forms a ball. (It doesn’t have to perfectly clean the sides of the bowl, but you don’t want a gloopy mess.) ( I, Carlee , added all the remaining flour at one time into my food processor! )

If you use a food processor just throw in all the flour and press dough for 1 minute or so.

 

Spray 2 baking sheets with cooking spray (I also used parchment). Divide dough into 16 equal portions – Roll each portion of dough in your hands to form a ball, and then flatten it between your palms. Place it on the baking sheet and press down, working the dough into a thin 5-inch round.

 

Brush the tops with water and then sprinkle with rolled oats. ( MAKE sure to really brush with water good around the edges! Mine looked a little dry because I did not quite enough. They still tasted the same, but the photo quality was not as good as it could have been! LOL.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees while you let the buns rest for 30 minutes before docking – I used the narrow end of a chopstick to dock the buns.

 

 Bake for 12-15 minutes.

 

Let cool completely before slicing. ( I sliced one right away and it turned out fine! )

Directions:

  1. Soak the chickpeas overnight in enough water to cover. Drain, transfer to a large pot, cover with water, bring to a boil, reduce the heat to low and cover and simmer until the chickpeas are buttery soft – roughly one hour. Drain and set aside.-OR just be lazy like me and use canned chickpeas.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. When hot, add the onion and cook, stirring often, until the onion is soft and begins to brown.
  3. While the onion is cooking, combine the chickpeas (garbanzo beans), parsley, goat cheese, olives, tomatoes, paprika, cayenne, chili powder and lime juice in a large bowl. Set aside.
  4. Add the garlic to the pan with the onions and stir and fry for about one minute.
  5. Remove from the heat and mix into the chickpea salad. Add sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper to taste and a bit more olive oil if desired. Serve over fresh arugula leaves, along with some crusty bread OR  Sandwich thins for a refreshing and tasty lunch or dinner!

 

The texture, the taste. Everything was perfect. This deserves a good ole’ ” I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S GLUTEN FREE!” ;)

 

I really couldn’t have been more pleased with these! PLEASE GO MAKE THEM, NOW. Drop the mouse, take your hands off the keyboard and march your butt to the kitchen. You’ll thank me :)

I will definitely be making these the second I run out.

XOXOXOXOXOXO

Carlee. Danielle.

51 responses to “Carlee Vs. Arnold

  1. GENIUS girl!! those look awesome, such a great idea!

  2. You are SO SMART!! My family loves those! I am most definitely going to try these out!! :) I’m sending a link to my mom as we speak. :)

  3. Yay!!! It takes a few hours all together but is sooo worth it!

  4. Oh my gosh those look SO perfect!!! great job!!! :)

    and I positively covet that chickpea salad. ohhh boy.

  5. Wow those look so perfect! I love that you sought out a recipe instead of waiting for some company to make them! I have never made bread, let alone gluten free sandwich thins. You rock! :)

    • Thanks! Yeah lately I have just been a go-getter with my recipes! I used to be stuck in the same old rut and stick with the same, yet delicious bowl of oats, etc, but I find it fun to branch out and take on food challenges that I usually would not think to make!

  6. oh my GOSH!! GREAT girl- way impressive!!!!! they look JUST like the real deal!!

  7. crazylittlethingneela

    Those are a lot of ingredients but it looks like it was well worth it in the end!!
    I am so happy for you that you found something to replace your beloved arnold’s thin :)

  8. Um you should patent that!! We had roasted chick peas last night but I think I need to jazz it up a bit, your recipe looks great!

  9. look at you making your own sandwich thins!!!! that is precious. they look perfect too! :)

  10. Yay! Those GF Sandwich Thins look fantastic. I bet they taste better than the packaged kind.

  11. You go, girl! These look great!

  12. WOW, you are awesome. Those sandwich thins look fabulous. I am supposed to avoid gluten too, so I’ll definitely try making those sometime!

    And the chickpea salad looks amazing also! :)

  13. Look at you Supergirl! These look freakin’ awesome! I love sandwhich thins but have always thought they were a bit over-priced. Now I can make my own!

  14. Good for you for making it work! Those look amazing- just like the real thing!

  15. wow, i am impressed with your sandwich thins! i have been wanting to make my own ever since heather at hangry pants posted hers. good job!

  16. I’ve never even TRIED the normal sandwich thins.. mainly because I think they have a few iffy ingredients. Homemade, however? Yes, please! I’m definitely bookmarking this! You’re a genius. :)

  17. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish

    These look fantastic! Great job! :)

  18. Ahh, WOW! I am so impressed with your sandwich thins, I need to make those! My mom won’t ever let me get them because they are so expensive!

  19. I love using the dough blade I have for my food processor to knead dough because, for the life of me, I can NOT knead well enough by hand! Plus, it comes together a lot quicker.. congrats on making the GF sandwich thins!!

  20. Hey love,
    I have one more question regarding the recipe. Can I substitute the almond flour for another flour? I can’t get almond flour here so I need to use something else. Any adive?
    Thank you

  21. I made these today. I must have done something wrong. They did not turn out at all :(

  22. Wow, these look great! I especially love the oaties on the top :) I’ve never made bread with yeast before, at least not since home ec. in middle school! Haha

  23. Oooo that looks fantastic! I just started reading your blog and I look forward to reading more!

  24. I will have to make this!

  25. Pingback: You Guys Are SO AMAZING! « katshealthcorner

  26. theflourishingfoodie

    Wow, these look amazing!!

  27. Pingback: My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner

  28. This recipe is divine – ill certainly be trying this, so yummy!

  29. these look awesome! I’m always trying out new recipes that make my family say “I can’t believe this is Gluten free!” Can’t wait to try it out! :)

  30. to be truly gluten free, be sure that the rolled oats used are dedicated GF.
    BROW – Barley, Rye, Oats, Wheat should be avoided if you are celiac.

  31. Such a great recipe! Can’t wait to try it out:)

  32. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles)

    Yum! I love chickpeas and im gluten intolerant. Perfect!

  33. These look fabulously amazing!!!!

Leave a Reply

